COURSE TITLE: Level III Commissioned Security Officer Course
COURSE TIME: 40 Hours (State Mandated)
COURSE FEE: $275.00
INCLUDES: All course materials, use of Academy Firearms, all required
Ammunition, Level III Training manual, issuance of a course
completion certificate (to successful students).
DESCRIPTION: This course covers the required State-Approved curriculum
required by The Texas Department of Public Safety-
Private Security Bureau in order to certify an officer as having
completed a course of study for Level III Training in
accordance with Chapter 1702 of the
FORMAT: Custom Developed Microsoft® PowerPoint Presentation of
Level III 40-Hour Training Manual.
AGE: 18 Years of Age, Minimum
This course includes instruction on the following topics: Licensing, Pocket Cards, Requirements to be a Commissioned Officer in Texas, Licensing of Companies, Violations by Commissioned Officers, Standards of Conduct, Function of Security Officers, Arrest Authority, Laws Pertinent to the Security Officer, Article 14.01 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 18.16 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 42.01 of Texas Penal Code, Chapter 9 Use of Deadly Force, Use of Force Concepts, Issues Relating to the Concealed Handgun License, Field Note Taking, Report Writing, Response to Emergency Situations, Hazardous Materials, Crime Scene, Witness Interviewing, Awareness Skills, Cover & Concealment, Fire Recognition and Response, Bomb Threats, Terrorist Response, Accidents Involving Serious Injury or Harm, Public Perception of a Security Officer, Conflict Resolution, Weaponless Strategies, Intermediate Weapons, Five Step Hard Style, Twelve(12) Hours Defensive Tactics, Four(4) Hours of Handcuffing Techniques, and Firearms Training & Actual Range Qualification.
The course fee includes the use of a new 9mm Semi-Automatic Handgun & required ammunition, as well as pre-paid range fees and use of hearing and eye protection.
NOTE: As of Sept. 1st, 2005 (as amended by House Bill 1132 in the 79th Texas Legislature) Shotgun Qualification is no longer required as part of an "Original Commission" or "ReQualification." If you would like to include the Shotgun as part of your training it can be provided for an additional $25 fee. Your certificate of training will reflect that you qualified and were proficient with a Shotgun. Your commission card will also reflect Shotgun status which will allow you to carry a Shotgun in performance of your duties as a Commissioned Security Officer (provided your current company policy(employer) does not prohibit the carry of Shotguns.)
Students who which to qualify with their own handgun, rather than a new Academy owned weapon, must provide fifty(50) rounds of 9mm or 38 caliber ammunition and a quality manufactured handgun. No discount in the course fee will be offered for students using their own handgun. However, you must qualify with at least a 9mm semi-automatic or 38 caliber revolver. (as required by Chapter 1702 of the Texas Occupations Code) Any handgun with a smaller caliber than a 9mm or 38 will not be accepted under State Law. If you wish to qualify with your own Handgun prior arrangements must be made with the Academy. Otherwise, you will be expected to qualify with the Academy supplied 9mm. Please call us directly to discuss qualifying with your own handgun.
State-of-the-art training is conducted in a safe classroom environment using the latest simulators.
Hypothetical situations are acted out with the use of safe, simulated weapons.
Actual "hands-on" training is conducted in the classroom. For example, every student learns the basic procedures for safely handcuffing a subject. Including use of a cover officer (when available) and proper double-locking procedures.